

NEWS RELEASE

March 21, 2025 For immediate release

TransAqua / Greater Moncton Wastewater Commission AGM highlights 2024 achievements

RIVERVIEW, N.B. – TransAqua – the Greater Moncton Wastewater Commission (GMWC) – held its 2024 annual general meeting (AGM) today at TransAqua's Administration Building in Riverview.

TransAqua has proudly been serving the municipalities of Moncton, Riverview and Dieppe for 41 years, and has always operated without debt. The Commission announced that it froze the 2025 Residential Unit Rate at \$210, a rate unchanged since 2016.

In 2024, the City of Moncton appointed Bruce Tait to replace Commissioner Michel Desjardins and Éric Arsenault to replace Commissioner Brenda Dore-Kidney. The Town of Riverview reappointed Nicolas Cormier to a new term that expires in October 2028.

During the year, the Commission continued to partner with NB Power and participated in their Peak Rebate Program. At the end of 2024 TransdAqua also commissioned it's reclaimed water project, which diverts treated effluent water back towards the process. This cuts potable water usage by the equivalent of an Olympic swimming pool a week both reducing water costs as well as TransAqua's demand on the local potable water supply.

TransAqua continues to operate well below the Federally set standards and are proud of the quality of water being returned to the Petitcodiac River. Through TransAqua's partnership with consultants, the agricultural biosolid compost program has been an inspiring success ensuring long-term sustainability for the local environment and agricultural community.

TransAqua's new initiatives for 2025 include the Energy Management Information System Project will come online, a wastewater heat recovery project will be constructed and TransAqua will continue to work with the City of Moncton to mitigate odour issues in Moncton's North End.

At the end of the 2024 AGM, a separate Commission meeting was held to elect Executive Officers. The Officers for 2024 will be Nicolas Cormier (Chair), Mona-Lisa Lavallée (Treasurer) and Jennifer Dingman (Secretary).



TransAqua / Greater Moncton Wastewater Commission (www.transaqua.ca) was established in 1983 to support the wastewater collection and treatment needs of the Dieppe, Moncton and Riverview tri-community. Since then, it has developed a 38.2-kilometre collection network and a treatment facility to best deliver on this mandate. It has also become a leader in the reuse of biosolids through the generation of type 'AA' compost (the highest grade currently achieved in Canada) as opposed to disposal in a landfill site.

Media contact:

Velta Tomsons
Communications and Marketing Manager
TransAqua / Greater Moncton Wastewater Commission
506-850-4431
vtomsons@transaqua.ca
www.transaqua.ca